Loving Yourself First 

“And if I asked you to name all of the things that you love, how long would it take for you to name yourself?”- unknown

I know for me, sometimes it is really hard for me to love myself, I’ll be honest.

I take a glance in the mirror and don’t feel adequate enough, good enough, or just “enough.”

This got me thinking though, if I can love others so deeply and compassionately, what is it that I struggle with in loving myself? As I searched myself and kept questioning my own self love I began to realize that my struggle wasn’t just with my body, it was with my mind. Our minds are mysterious and wonderful things that can control us like no other. On the days that I struggle, I constantly battle with my mind, trying to figure out what is “wrong with me” or how I can “be better.”

Just remember that you could be the most beautiful woman in the world and everyone smiles when they see how you radiate this beauty, but if you don’t know your own worth it doesn’t matter. Every minute you spend doubting your self is a piece of your life that you are wasting. I know I do it, but as I keep learning to love myself and know my worth I try to think of the positive aspects of myself and keep growing in my faith, my walk with God, and I keep reminding myself who I want to be as a person. I don’t want it to just be about my body, I want people to love me for “me” and I want to love myself for “me.”

As I keep growing in life, I am learning to love myself and to be okay with where I am at. One of my favorite quotes is, “Life is too short to waste any amount of time on wondering what other people think about you. In the first place, if they had better things going on in their lives, they wouldn’t have the time to sit around and talk about you. What’s important to me is not others’ opinions of me, but what’s important to me is my opinion of myself.” ― C. JoyBell C.

So keep practicing self love! You can do it!

 

Love,

B

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

