The Road to Recovery

0ce0f7ae1eace822b78e9a618a29f4ef.jpg

“One of the hardest things was learning I was worth recovery.” -Demi Lovato

To those of you who are on the road to recovery…

Stay strong my love, don’t give up.

Keep fighting, keep working, keep going.

I know it’s not easy.

I know it’s challenging.

I know its not fun.

But, it is so worth it.

I know it isn’t pretty.

But, it will turn into something beautiful.

  • You will relapse and that is okay, Rome wasn’t built in a day.

I relapsed many times and it took therapy and counseling and surrounding myself with people who helped me through it all. I could not have done it by myself. So, surround yourself with people who can be honest with you and love you through your struggles.

  • You may feel alone, but trust me love, you are not.

I felt so alone, so afraid. I felt that no one would ever understand my struggles, but trust me, thats not true. No one is perfect. Everyone struggles with something, maybe it isn’t their body image, or food, but it could be alcohol, drugs, or anything else. So, don’t be afraid to speak up and say that you need help. I thought that admitting something was wrong with me was a sign of weakness, but the strongest people are the ones who don’t fight their battles alone. They are the ones who stand up and take ahold of their life and do what needs to be done to keep living the best life possible.

  • You may have bad days, but I promise you there will be good ones too.

There were weeks that were awful for me, months, years even, but each year, each month, and each day had something positive to it. Try to focus on the little things, they are what will turn into big things.

  • And lastly, it’s okay to take each meal day by day. Take each day hour by hour. And if you need, take each hour minute by minute.

There were many days where I had to take it hour by hour to keep fighting, but one hour is a lot less overwhelming than 24! So give yourself grace…you will mess up and that’s okay. Give yourself a break and try again.

With love,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

