Never Give Up!

shoutout3.jpg“Never let a stumble in the road be the end of your amazing adventure.”- Unknown

We have all been there; the weight of the world is on our shoulders, it trips us and we fall. The overwhelming feeling of giving up takes over. As we lie on the ground we think to ourselves, “Why me?” “What did I do to deserve this?” “I want to quit.” “I don’t want to do this anymore.” Has anyone else been in this situation? Or asked similar questions to the ones above? Maybe you didn’t physically fall down, but maybe you’ve felt burdened for a long time and you just can’t deal with it anymore.

Well, I’m here to tell you that you can! Jeremiah 29:11 says, For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

When I was younger someone told me about the analogy that our obstacles are like mountains. Some of these mountains are small, some are medium, and some are huge! God puts these mountains in front of us as we journey through the “hike” of life. Sometimes it is really easy to climb over one of the mountains. It’s a simple hike and you get to enjoy the beautiful view all around you. Other times a huge mountain stands in your way. As you climb to the summit you struggle, you’re out of breath, you may even fall or twist your ankle. You may curse God and be angry that he made it so hard, but in the end, you make it to the top with God’s guidance and there, before you is an even more amazing view. The trees below you are full of vibrant color. The air is crisp and serene. The breeze cools you off as it perfectly blows by, your hair flows in the wind, and you stand in awe of the beauty before you.

Although it may not seem like God has a plan for our life, he does! Every single second, every step on your journey, God knows what he has planned for us. So, it may be challenging and it may be hard in the moment, but God’s plans are so much bigger. When we go through trials and obstacles stand in our way, we need to cry out to God and ask him for his help. He will always be there to hold our hands as we hike through the journey of life.

I want you to try this exercise and see what happens.

Exercise: Grab a piece of paper (place it vertically) and draw a line down the center. On the left side write down “Challenges I have gone through in my life.” On the right side write, “Experiences that have made me a stronger person.”

Usually, the results are amazing! The left and right sides are very similar! That is because God uses “little mountains” to strengthen us and build our character. I know for me, I hated going through being bullied and an eating disorder, but it has made me who I am today and I wouldn’t change that for the world. It has made me more empathetic and compassionate toward others that are hurting. So, try the exercise and remember when everything feels like it is falling apart, keep going and know that God has a huge plan for your life that you may not see or understand. Pray for strength and courage to keep moving forward!

I would love to see what you come up with! Email me or post a picture and tag brookefoy11 and #sheisworthmore on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

